Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Level of service
Seagirl
Posted: Friday, December 6, 2019 4:43 PM

I need help! I work as a solo stew on a 120' yacht. We do a lot of dinner cruises many of them are buffets if it is over 10 guests. The first mate washes dishes for me but it is a huge amount of work for both of us. It is typically between 15 and 20 guests. That means I must set up two tables and split the group in two different locations. I greet the guests as they come aboard, make drinks from the bar,  take their coats, participate in the safety briefing with the captain, and also serve them two passed apps, and a cheeseboard as well as bussing dishes and glassware, and setting up the buffet, passed dessert trays, or plated desserts, coffee & dessert wine service, putting away dishes as they are washed, refreshing the heads. I am also the medic aboard and if there is a medical that is mine to deal with. This has happened on two occasions and the guests have been left with out me as the other crew are not good about stepping in to the service roll. I know the stews in past have had help at varying levels. The captain and crew and I discussed and set guidelines for it. Over 15 guest buffet I can ask for help, or over 12 plated dinner i can have help or if it is a known high maintenance group then I can ask. I went thru the calendar for December and submitted my request. It ended up being all of the trips scheduled. The captain is now balking at the request and want