Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Engineering Certification Question
evanoff.gregory@gmail.com
Posted: Wednesday, October 22, 2014 1:23 AM

I am currently a 2nd Engineer and wondering what the best certification to get would be.  I am leaning towards DDE 1000 because I am American, but wanted everyone's opinion!  I will have 1 year of engine room time under the supervision of a Chief Engineer. The only certifications I hold are deck certifications.  Thank you
Geoedmo
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2014 11:50 PM

Someone please weigh in on this as I'm curious and I'm sure others are as well. I'm a deckhand currently looking to get into engineering. I thought about doing the AEC at mpt.
Ishmael
Posted: Friday, October 24, 2014 11:54 PM

You should qualify for your QMED and yes, absolutely get this rating. It will serve you far better than a Y ticket which has no commercial application.  I'm not sure you'll be able to get the DDE without the QMED oiler (or electrician or whatever).
Ishmael
Posted: Tuesday, October 28, 2014 3:45 PM

Well I was curious and bored and also happen to be preparing to test for the QMED, so I looked into this.

You will need your QMED for the DDE, which is an endorsement of the QMED (and neither is a license- they are "ratings", you are an unlicensed support engineer even with a DDE. It's a semantic point but one worth noting, as the 3rd engineer unlimited license test is reportedly MUCH harder to pass than the ratings tests.)