Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
CAREER ADVICE
DaveSA
Posted: Thursday, May 16, 2013 9:35 AM

Hello, 

I am a student in my fourth year of Mechanical Engineering in South Africa. I graduate at the end of next year and have recently been doing some research into viable career options/paths and I've been enlightened about career opportunities as a Marine Engineer. 

My goal is to speak to as many people in various engineering sectors so I can make an informed choice as to which career direction I should follow. I'm an incredibly positive person and I would like to find a job for which I'm passionate about hence would like to end up in the engineering sector, opposed to becoming a financial manager for some bank (for instance) - and no offense to anyone in that position, just not for me. I've done a fair bit of reading about becoming a super yacht engineer however there seems to be little advice for those looking.