RSS Feed Print
Change of career much?
kenny tran
Posted: Wednesday, September 26, 2012 7:15 AM

Hi engineers,
I am a 24 years old engineer living New Zealand with a qualification in aircraft engineering. I've recently decided to pursue a career  in the super yacht industry. According to New Zealand Maritime I can get my MEC3 ticket with my formal aircraft engineering qualification and minimum 6months sea-time watchkeeping experience. sea-time experience can be on a merchant vessel or super yacht. My questions is what are the step I can do from here to secure a place in the industry? should I go through commercial route or superyacht route to get my sea time experience. Much wisdom is apreciated

Kenny

junior
Posted: Wednesday, September 26, 2012 9:44 AM

Yachts are frivolous toys for rich boys. When the fat cats get tired of their toys or their investment bank collapses , they get rid of the toys ..AND YOU. On yachts the successful, going to retire someday, crew are those who can keep one foot commercial and one foot yachting. As an engineer you are best advised to make connections and be qualified for both industries. Yachts are a difficult way to generate a pension.
MikeEng
Posted: Friday, September 28, 2012 11:22 PM

Do you need your sea time or do you already have it? If you get your MEC3 then you can choose which path you want to follow. you will be qualified for both industries but you will have to choose the most favourable for you. But the first hurdle will be the sea time if you dont already have it. It doesn't matter which industry the time is in as long as the propulsion is >750Kw. Whichever is easiest for you. There are plenty of yachts out there. If you want to work on yachts though, do your time on yachts!!
Anonymous
Posted: Saturday, September 29, 2012 1:05 AM