RSS Feed Print
Where do they all go?! is there enough jobs?
Corey Adcook
Posted: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 7:54 PM

after deciding to stay in the industry I am in the UK doing my final OOW module. At the particular centre I am studying, they provide courses for all areas of the industry, apart from proper engineer stuff. Here this week alone there are probably 70-90 people. A course of at least 12 STCW basics, a load of cadets, some OOW’s and Masters and so on. Apparently it is the same here every week give or take over the winter period. My question is, where do all the newbies go, is there enough jobs. Because I don’t know of many people leaving working on the boats, compared to the amount I hear getting into the industry, plus those getting more qualified such as OOW and Master.
junior
Posted: Tuesday, February 28, 2012 9:01 PM

Good question ! And Who Knows ? Perhaps there are huge herds of undiscovered megayachts roaming the African plains ? I see whole marinas full of mothballed brokerage yachts and consider the actual fleet of active yachts to be rather small .
TREVOR
Posted: Wednesday, February 29, 2012 10:18 PM

I often get friends and friends of friends asking me how they can go about getting into the industry. I usually tell them not to wast their time, but to rather find another industry to get into. I have been in the industry for 6 years and still struggle to find work - we dont need more green horns flooding the industry
Smith
Posted: Thursday, March 1, 2012 12:31 AM

There's plenty of work out there for enthusiastic, qualified crew with the right attitude. Speaking from experience, it is actually not that easy to find crew for any position with those three attributes and no baggage.
Anonymous
Posted: Thursday, March 1, 2012 7:51 AM