RSS Feed Print
Yachting vs. Merchant Mariners
SirenWilliams
Posted: Wednesday, September 9, 2015 4:51 PM

I know we're all here to talk about the yachting industry, but I'm looking for people who know both the yachting industry AND the commercial (merchant mariner) industry.
I have worked in the yachting industry and I'm familiar enough with it. It's been several years since I've worked on a boat now, and I'm taking some new classes and looking for work again. I recently starting reading some things about merchant mariner jobs and how they can sometimes offer more time off (2 wks on, 2 off, for example), potentially better pay, etc. I've been researching a lot lately trying to understand that industry better (because I knew NOTHING about it a week ago) and I have learned quite a bit. I know the lowest rank to be Ordinary Seaman, but I have some experience and sea time, so I'd like to maybe go in as Ordinary Seaman and then get on to Able Seaman as soon as possible. I'm already enrolled in the class, just need a bit more sea time toward it. But I started looking around and it seems there aren't very many jobs out there for Ordinary Seamans, and this worries me. Should I jump int the yachting industry and build more sea time, get my AB, and THEN go into that industry? Ultimately, I'd like to work up the ladder building my captains licenses and perhaps be a mate or captain in the future.