RSS Feed Print
US Maritime Academy
Ishmael
Posted: Sunday, March 23, 2014 8:57 PM

I've been working on yachts for a few years and decided to apply to one of the Merchant Maritime Academies for marine engineering. If I attend I'll graduate when I'm 32 or 33 with a USCG 3rd Assistant Engineer Unlimited ticket and a Bachelor's in Engineering. 
I applied because I'm interested in working in commercial shipping, but I want to keep the door open in the yachting industry as well. I'm wondering whether Captains/Chiefs believe there is any place/demand for this ticket in the industry, especially on larger vessels. I haven't met too many maritime grads in the time I've been working on yachts. As far as I can tell from the MPT website, there is no MCA equivalent for the 3rd Asst. Engineer Unlimited. I'm not sure how much this would advance my career on yachts.
Any advice is appreciated. Thanks

Anonymous
Posted: Tuesday, March 25, 2014 9:46 PM

The education you will be receiving at the acadamies will be far above your MCA compatriots that are coming out of the yachting schools, and you will have a true Commercial license. I am an acadamey grad from over 20 years ago, and have been in yachting my entire time, you are right, there are not that many of us. There is a big demand for larger licensed engineers and with a little unlimited tonnage you will be able to upgrade rather quickly, maybe longer going with yachts. I am sure once you graduate you will do some commercial time, at least you should to see what it is like.

As for the tickets I believe you will be able to get a CEC for most flags, except maybe the true Red Esign boats, but I wouldn't worry, there are plenty of boats with Cayman, BVI, Marshall and others that with a little paperwork you will be good to go.

Best of luck in getting accepted some of the schools, like Mass Maritime have become hard to get into, as the demand is pretty high.

CaptErik
Posted: Tuesday, March 25, 2014 11:41 PM