Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Engineering Degree
Biggs_Taylor
Posted: Tuesday, January 24, 2012 11:13 PM

After working on land for the past 6 years in the marine industry i have decided to go work onboard a boat. I have been working as a design engineer for a windlass manufacturing company since i graduated from university with a batchelor of engineering (Mechanical). I would like to go onboard as a 2nd or assistant engineer as this is where my interests are and also so i can use the knowledge i have obtained over the past 6 years working in the marine industry. I have just recently obtained my STCW95 at the end of last year and plan to obtain my ENG1 before i head over to Antibes in april. My question is this, with my mechanical engineering degree do i still need to get an AEC certificate? Also how does my degree compare with a Y4 qualification or any of the other engineer qualifications?

Anonymous
Posted: Wednesday, January 25, 2012 2:11 AM