Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
qualified chef making move in 2013
Cheftothesea
Posted: Thursday, January 5, 2012 7:29 PM

Hi all,

Im a 26 year old chef currently running my own kitchen in a 10 bedroom country inn( upto 800 covers per week) , Ive been a chef 4 years and have quickly progressed to taking over the kitchen last year, im planning on leaving the uk feb 2013 and am currently enrolling on STCW, short range radio, powerboat level 2, kitchen to galley all of which will be completed before I move over. In  past work before chefing I served 4 years in the army as a radio operator and helicopter handler including 6 weeks on HMS Ocean. Is there any other course planning I should look to do before leaving. I was planning to get a mobile (Local) before heading out and getting business cards printed, cv's and covering letters e.c.t 

any advice on what to take with me, dock walking e.c.t would be gratefully recived

Cheers

Happy Sailing

MarineDex
Posted: Thursday, January 5, 2012 8:23 PM

I think that you have covered all the courses that you are going to need to work as a chef and some more. I would suggest a few things though when it comes to packing

• Pack light with no hard cases, get a wheely bag though so that you don't break your back as well as they are hander to live in while you trying to find a job. I got a great clam bag from Musto years ago that I always take with me and love.