Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Massage therapist-Stew: Insurance and more
Rachel
Posted: Monday, December 26, 2011 12:47 PM

Hello all,

I am a massage therapist (based in the UK) and plan to work on Yachts next summer season. I would like to know if anyone knows which company offers insurance for being a massage therapist on yachts (mine is restricted to the UK mainland), but also and quite important point, is it possible to make sure I can work mainly as a massage therapist on board, say 70% of massages and 30% of Stewardess job? (nothing against being a stew, but I love my job and would like ideally to do more of it, that's all!). I was told if the boat is more than 80m long and discussing with the captain, it should be feasable, any experienced person could tell me, either confirm or infirm this piece of information please?

Thank you very much,
Rachel

Henning
Posted: Wednesday, December 28, 2011 1:48 PM

Wow, good luck with that... there are several tricks involved to make that difficult. Technically, if you are UK on a UK flagged vessel, your UK professional liability policy should be in effect. However on a non UK flagged yacht, you may have trouble gaining independent coverage due to differences in local and regional requirements where you travel. Typically this is covered under the boat policy when I bring the masseuse on the crewlist.

Anonymous
Posted: Thursday, April 5, 2012 9:52 AM