Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Pension & Social Security
Kmadou
Posted: Thursday, November 17, 2011 8:44 PM

Hi to everyone!!! I am a Merchant Navy Officer and I have a small experience of 1 year working as chief mate on yachts in the Meditteranian and mostly at Cannes/France. I would be grateful if somebody can give me some information with the pension and Social Security. How do proffesionals of the industry manage these matters? For example a Captain on a 60m Yacht with 20years experience when can he get his pension? If he is off hire and needs medical treatment who is going to pay??? thank you....

Henning
Posted: Friday, November 18, 2011 10:41 PM

It'll be interesting to hear how this is handled in the EU nations. In the US, it is handled one of two ways. If you are on a US flag vessel, the owner/operator will be filing W-2s and withholding Social Security and whatever other witholdings. If you are sailing under a foreign flag between foreign ports, you are exempted a large portion of income tax and are required to take care of your own Social Security contributions and other financial planning towards retirement and such.

Anonymous
Posted: Friday, November 18, 2011 10:45 PM