Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
What course next?
Jac
Posted: Thursday, November 17, 2011 3:15 PM

I am new to this industry, and I only have my STCW '95 and my powerboat level 2. I am currently on my first real job on a 40+ M/Y and wondered what courses I should look into doing next. My current job is only a 6 month contract, so would like to make myself more appealing to others when it comes to hitting the docks again. Any advice would be great, thanks peeps
Anonymous
Posted: Thursday, November 17, 2011 6:12 PM
too general. What do you want to do? Engineering? Be Chief Stew? Deck? Chef? Without knowing what course you want to take, cant give you much advice.
Jac
Posted: Thursday, November 17, 2011 7:13 PM

yeah sorry i should of clarified, i want to work as deckhand, and then progress upwards from there to eventually hopefully becoming a captain one day.
John Doe
Posted: Friday, November 18, 2011 4:28 AM

Yachtmaster Ocean.
Linda @ Aigua Sea School
Posted: Saturday, November 19, 2011 8:07 AM