Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Do I have the wrong certifications?
Jesse
Posted: Tuesday, November 1, 2011 4:12 AM

I'm trying to find out if I have the wrong certifications here...I have a USCG 100-ton Masters w/ Tow & Sail, PADI Rescue Diver, ABYC certified Marine Electrician, and a Bachelor's Degree in Computer Science.  Oh yeah, and STCW 95.  They all seemed like a good idea at the time, but it really is looking like nobody cares about any of those.  For the last 10 years I've been able to get work driving charter catamarans, dive boats, harbor tours, sailing schools, etc fairly easily, but I really want to get into the bigger boats.  I've mostly been captain, but only boats up to 70' or so, and mainly charter boats.  Right now I'm running a fairly busy marine repair business fixing diesel engines and electrical systems, and I was born and raised on a boat my whole life, so I think I may be qualified for an engineer-type spot experience-wise, but don't have any certifications other than the ABYC stuff.  I don't really care - I'll wash the windows if the pay's decent and I'm learning something new.  Does anyone know where I can get the right ticket to get into real yachts?  Is it worth flying to Ft. Lauderdale or something like that to get into the "scene"?  All my captaining and crew experience has been in places where yachts seem scarce - Hawaii, Honduras, Turkey, Bahamas, California, Dominican Republic, Azores, so I've never been able to connect with the right crowd, I guess.  Advice?

Henning