Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Why US South Africans!?!?!?!?! USVI
Graeme
Posted: Monday, October 10, 2011 3:59 PM

Briefly... I am South African(obviously) and am on board a sailing yacht in Palma de Mallorca. I have been on just over a year and have been hanging around the med. Our owner has just decided that he would like to be in the Virgin Islands(US) some time in November which gives me NO TIME to go and sort out my visa issues. Can anybody give some advice on what I should do? As this is my first time crossing I am uncertain on what to expect when I arrive. I am asking for help, this is one of many attempts at getting it. So I implore!!!! If you have to much time on your hands and are like some folks that read the forums and state the obvious or be unnecessarily sarcastic, please not do so. THANK YOU again!
Anonymous
Posted: Monday, October 10, 2011 4:31 PM
Firstly it is NOT because you are South African that you need a B1/B2 Visa, everybody does that is not U.S. or Canadian. Secondly you will not be allowed off the boat in the USVI's (St Thomas) if you do not have a visa. You need to quickly see which Embassy's have the shortest wait, Madrid is usually good. Get the paperwork done and get one, if you don't get a visa you wont be going anyhow so take a day or two off work and sort it out. If the Captain doesn't let you he obviously doesn't want you to come on the trip and usually should do the utmost to help you to get the VISA, arrange flights etc. remember HE/SHE is responsible for you. Good luck
Graeme