Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Running out of time in Fort Lauderdale
kascrook
Posted: Monday, October 3, 2011 6:53 PM

Hello! I'm new to the yachting industry, but I have 5 years of high end service industry and hospitality experience, and a very clean appearance, no tattoos, college educated, etc. I'm a US citizen, I have my STCW95 and came to Fort Lauderdale, but its been weeks and I haven't gotten anywhere. I've been to every crew agency, I'm staying at a crew house, and I've been out to any dock I can get into every day handing out resumes. Still nothing, no call backs even from people who seemed interested. I am afraid I'm going to run out of resources before I find any sort of work, and then be completely SOL. I've been applying to any sort of business in the industry, boat washing, dock maintenance, even a yacht day cruise business. Nothing. Does anyone have tips for making ends meet while trying to find work? Are there temp agencies or day labor offices here? I'm not ready to give up yet, but I think I'd have a harder time finding work if I wind up camping somewhere because I can't afford the crew house anymore, or running up an outlandish credit card bill. Any advice is greatly appreciated!
junior
Posted: Monday, October 3, 2011 9:31 PM