Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
San Diego or Hawaii for jobhunt? (or somewhere else?)
hawsepipsqueak
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 4:59 PM

I'm a newbie. I've got my MMC, TWIC, STCW-95 basic safety, Open Water Scuba cert, Food & Alcohol handling certs, and have taught myself knot-tying. College educated, experienced in computers and hand/power tools. A mature adult and hard worker. But no sea-time. I'm trying to start working on a boat anyway I can, doing whatever I can. My plan is to move to either San Diego or Hawaii and start walking the docks, putting in applications to companies and agencies, even cruise ships and oil rigs. Looked into the Military Sealift Command but they aren't hiring entry-level right now. The unions don't sound too promising from what I've gathered. Of these two locations, which is my best bet for finding work? Would you suggest somewhere else? Thanks for any advice and insight.
conrad bagley boat services
Posted: Friday, May 20, 2011 10:10 PM

Hi Guy, I worked in the Hawaiian Is. on boats for quite a few years, and it was great. If you want to get into the superyacht scene your better off going to the Florida (Fort Lauderdale) as soon as posible to try and find a yacht heading over to the Med. If you arrive in the Med. after an ocean passage you've got your foot in the door. Good luck. Conrad
Anonymous
Posted: Saturday, May 21, 2011 2:06 PM