Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Good looks?
fiona_baker
Posted: Friday, May 13, 2011 11:06 PM

Dear Crew Confessor, I'm 19 and female and I'm currently doing my training so I can get my first yacht job. I've been reading everything I can find out about the industry and I know that its based a lot upon looks. I currently work in a restaurant where they have a similar view on that so I'm used to it and honestly I'm very confident in my weight and appearance. However I read that certain yachts will only stock certain sized uniforms? What is the typical size of an average stewardess and exactly how vein is the industry just so I'm prepared for it? I have no issues with hitting the gym a bit more! From Fi
Dean
Posted: Saturday, May 14, 2011 12:38 AM

I wouldn't worry too much about fitting into uniforms, your focus should be fitting into the job. Looks will only take you so far in yachting. If looks where the only thing that counted I'd be out of a job today. There's a lot more to being a stewardess than meets the eye.
Anonymous
Posted: Monday, May 16, 2011 12:06 AM
The looks myth is a load of crap...i have worked on many yachts over the last 9 years and yet to have worked with a "hottie", the term is "presentable". Hard working, easy going and not sea-sick are more important. Captains who hire for looks are just trying to get in your pants. They will fire you later if you don't put out.
junior
Posted: Monday, May 16, 2011 7:34 AM