Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
South African Schengen visa questions
Nikki-lee Davis
Posted: Saturday, March 19, 2011 3:18 PM

Hello Everyone, I am here in antibes on a 3 month holiday Schengen visa with a South African passport. I am in need of help of what happens when i get a job on the yachts in how to change it to a working visa or the closest place to extend it. I have been told that if you obtain a Seaman's Book you can over stay your visa and when at the airport just produce your book to show u where at sea and not on land. Yet if i am a chef and need to get provisions from the market, I am on land and what if i get caught for some reason or the other, even though that is highly unlikely. I have been told that the captain often helps you too to get the visa all sorted if you wish to become permanent on the yacht if he is willing, but if he does not know how to do it i would like to be able to tell him. With the visa situation for South Africans one agent said to me I will never be employed or at least the last to be considered, is that really true? Even if i am a qualified chef that has worked in the industry for 5 years at reputable fine dining restaurants as well as a 5-star 5-diamond hotel in Aspen,CO and has been bought up on the water and on boats and watersports and jetski's etc. So Many question but I do know there are so many south Africans in the industry and so any help from any one would be great. Your Faithfully
tavish
Posted: Saturday, March 19, 2011 3:44 PM

Hi Nikki,