Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Is July too Late in the Med? Going for broke...
A.L.F.
Posted: Wednesday, October 6, 2010 3:04 AM

Hey dockwalk,
I think this question has been asked in different ways in these forums, but none of the match my situation exactly...a friend is trying to convince me that I should not go back to graduate school and instead head to the Med in July to try and find a deckhand job. Though I am a newbie in the Superyacht business, I am not new to yachting (just never been paid for it!). I have almost 10 000nm in my log book, I have a Yachtmaster-Coastal Skipper, Powerboat II, VHF, Radar Operator, and an STCW 95. Many people on this forum have said "it is never too late to try," but I'll literally be going for broke if I do this...I will have enough money to support myself in France for 2-3 months MAX! Can anyone give me an honest assessment as to what my chances of getting a deckhand position are in early-mid July 2011? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Steve
Posted: Wednesday, October 6, 2010 11:07 AM