Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
What are the Chances?
Murrman
Posted: Thursday, September 2, 2010 9:55 AM

So here I am at the age of 41 contemplating a career change almost two years after the death of my 6year old son and going back to what I love... the sea. I was 9 years in the Navy in Canada and got out to go into Commercial aviation as an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (Helicopters) which I have been doing for the last 15 years. Been a manager... had my own business putting Turbine Engines into raceboats... all sorts of life experience. I want to follow the Deck oriented career path but dont mind working on technical things... I AM pretty good at it but I would rather go Deck. I have visions of taking my STCW'95 and Megayacht crew course at the end of the month and from the job postings I see around... I was hoping to land something fairly quickly... What are the chances? I know I have a great deal to offer in the way of seagoing experience albeit in a military environment where there is, I am sure, a higher utilization of colorful metaphors than on your typical yacht. (I do have the ability to flip the kid friendly vocabulary switch when required.) But does that realy give me enough of a leg up (and maybe with my ability to help out in engineering as well) to actually expect a job any time soon. What do you folks see as a likely career path. Luckily I can still work the aviation career if I have to as I am currently on a 6 week on 6 week off rotation so I might be able to fill my time off with short contracts or day work. Just lookin