Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Too old/tattood for deckhand, too inexperienced to be a chef?
manny18
Posted: Tuesday, July 20, 2010 12:34 PM

Hello, thanks in advance for any and all replies and may you all enjoy smooth seas wherever you are.

I have been wanting to work on a yacht for sometime and plan to become STCW '95 compliant in about a year and then hopefully find a job.  Here is my dilemma; I have 2 years of experience working in fine dining restaurants, but I never made it higher than hot appetizers, or got much experience in cuisines outside of California cuisine (a name I hate by the way!).  I wish this weren't the case, but I know that my skill, knowledge and experience isn't quite up to being the head chef on a yacht.  I simply don't know enough different recipes or have enough experience to be a head chef, let alone understand budgeting, provisioning etc. 

I am flexible, I don't have to be a chef, I'd be perfectly willing to be a deckhand, in fact I'd prefer it.  However I'll be 31 when I get started in the industry and I have a couple of visible tattoos on my inner forearms.  I've been told that green deckhands are a dime a dozen, and that coupled with being over 30 and having a couple of visible tattoos, will make it very difficult for me to get a job, but that allowances are sometimes made for chefs and they make more money to boot.