Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Dive Master vs Instructor
timm
Posted: Sunday, July 4, 2010 5:22 PM

hi guys i am a padi dive master currently working on a yacht and wondering if it would be worth me going through my instructors course. do many yachts look to employ instructors only or is being a dive master usually enough??
Arthur
Posted: Sunday, July 4, 2010 9:00 PM

Hi Tim,
I am a Divemaster too and I was a Dive Instructor PADI few years ago. The syllabi to get the instructor is the same as the dive master the only difference is that to be an instructor you have to pay a fee (last time was around 1000 euro plus a percentage on the course you will provide plus you will have to buy books, logs book etc.. from PADI !). Will be like to be part of a company, PADI will allow you to issue certificates only if you pay every year the fee! Is a business.To join as an instructor worth only if you will work in a diving centre or if you are onboard a dive purpuse built yacht. I am a captain and dive master is enough to cope with on board equipment and guests requests.

Henning
Posted: Monday, July 5, 2010 12:55 AM