Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
should I drop my job hunt?
siria
Posted: Saturday, May 29, 2010 4:37 PM

Hi everybody, my name is Sara, I am a 27 years girl from Italy. I have been reading DW for quite a lot now and the time has come for me to ask some advices to you more experienced guys!! I am new to the industry, and in the last three months, I have completed my STCW 95 training, I have completed an 8 days Stew course in which I learnt all the basics to be a proper junior Stew, I have been joining all the agencies in Antibes, some in Palma and some in Fort Lauderdale.. I have been dayworking a lot, I have been dockwalking, and went to few interviews... And I am still jobless!! Right now all the boats seem to be fully crewed already.. The few ones still looking seem to be more keen to hire Stew with some experience already.. They all still take CVs but I think they do it more to for kindness than because they are really interested.. and they all say to keep going on like that and I will find something for sure... I have been to every port from Cannes to Genoa and the situation is everywhere the same, and I am really starting to feel hopeless. My question is: In your opinion is there still any (good) chance to find a job right now, or I should drop my job hunt and look for some bar job while waiting for the Caribbean season? I am really eager to be on a yacht, and just the thought of dropping everything right now makes me really sad but if it is worthless to keep going on then I should do it as quick as I can and start earning money for n