Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
To late in the season?
Sofiakaller1
Posted: Monday, May 17, 2010 10:07 AM

Hi all!

I am a Swedish girl by the name of Sofia. I am new to the hole yachting industry. I have recently taken the STCW95 course, here in Stockholm Sweden.

I am looking to going to Antibes at the end of this week. What do you guys think of the posibility of me finding an entry level position?  Are there still any jobs to find in antibes, or should i go to palma? Or should i even wait and go to FL?

I have been reading the forum here at dockwalk for a couple of months and some say that you are doomed to lose this late in the season, and some say that you can allways find a job, who should i listen too?

Thank you guys for taking your time!

/Sofia Käller

Anonymous
Posted: Tuesday, May 18, 2010 8:35 PM
Last year I got my deckhand job at the start of May, and they hired the stewardesses a bit later. The second stew didn't even get hired until June. I don't know how busy it is down there at the moment, but if you don't try you'll never find out! Just make sure you have enough money for three or four weeks, have a good attitude, dress professionally when dockwalking every day, and give out tons of well presented, grammar checked CVs! Good luck, let us know how you get on!
Anonymous
Posted: Wednesday, May 19, 2010 4:08 PM