Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
The Owner Was A Cheapskate!
Anonymous
Posted: Friday, February 6, 2009 10:10 PM

Dear Crew Confessor, I am a freelance chef. Recently I did a ten day trip with the owners on their yacht, repeat clients of mine over the past few years everything has always gone really well. I have always been meticulous with my receipts, I keep them in an envelope and note the place and amounts in a special notepad I always keep with me. The latest trip for these clients went well, but the owners wife is a bit of a strange bird. Doesn't want to admit what the real cost of things are etc... The owner himself is a little on the cheap side too, he wouldn't hire me a day or two in advance of their arrival so that I could have the boat provisioned and ready to go when they got here. No, I had to do all the schlepping and shopping while they sat at the dock watching. The owner even told me not to "buy to much at once, better to make more trips with less stuff" so as to keep the owner's wife in the dark I guess.