Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
So your management co. doesn't pay
roger
Posted: Friday, January 30, 2009 9:11 PM

I'm a contractor, I have 23 152.76 Euro outstanding from management companies who say, "the money is late from the owner so we can't pay you yet".  I'm a sole trader and can't afford this sort of cash flow problem.  It isn't my problem that the money flow from the boss is bad.  Bills that now date to 3 months are for me unacceptable.  I'm a maritime lawyer and have no trouble usuing a liens and arrest wrants or an action in rem against a boat but if I do I get blacklisted and fighting a major company is hard work.  This is why they don't pay us until they feel like it.  One inparticular is worse than all the others put together.  Nigel Burgess.

My question is what would you do as a captain if you had a liens/warrants issued against you for non payment of a bill you had signed off on?

Anonymous
Posted: Saturday, January 31, 2009 5:47 AM
.  In the end its the captains problem.  Chain him down, make him grow up and get organized.  The golden rule on yachts is never spend the owners money unless you have it on the boat..  Never.   Don't be blaming management companies for failure to pay. Most " managers " are just paper pushers sitting behind their desks waiting for Friday.   Hit the captain.  I never, NEVER, commission work or purchase gear until I have the cash in hand.
Anonymous
Posted: Saturday, January 31, 2009 12:40 PM