Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Holiday quandary
Anonymous
Posted: Monday, December 8, 2008 2:00 AM
Dear Crew Confessor,

I have been working on yachts for a few years now, and really love it. Unlike most other crew I don't mind working during holidays, I'd rather spend them on board with my crew working. My "real family" has never given me what I need emotionally and I'd rather just be working with a bunch of people that I like more than my "real family." For the first time in years we don't have a charter or the owners on board for Christmas. Unlike nearly everyone else onboard I don't really want to go "home." I know my parents would be overjoyed to have me at home for Christmas, but I am convinced the visit would turn dramatically sour. I dread the thought of it. And then after my brief, stressful visit, back to the boat and attempt to regain a positive attitude. That said I would hate for them to discover that I could've come home for the holidays and chose not to. It would hurt their feelings! I don't know what to do. Spend a week in a hotel? Go to my parents? Or just stay on the boat and catch up on projects and reading. As a plus if I stay on the boat the mate will be free to go home for the holidays (he was low man on the totem pole), something I know he would love to do. Help me Crew Confessor, what to do? Feel'in Guilty Cause I Don't Feel the Family Love
Crew Confessor
Posted: Wednesday, December 10, 2008 12:10 AM