Dockwalk - The Essential Site For Captains And Crew - DockTalk Untitled Page

Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Advice, Master Unlimited, green to Yacht industry
Elvar
Posted: Tuesday, May 23, 2017 10:20 PM

Hi

Looking for advice

I am 34 year old male from Iceland, I have been working at sea for at least 12 years on a trawler freezer in North Atlantic. I am just finishing STCW 11/2 (a) Master Unlimited. So I have a lot of experience working at sea, good education and PADI OWD Instructor, but I am green to Yachting world.

On graduation I will set all my focus to get a job on a yacht. What do you guys think of my possibilities on work and first position ?

Your thoughts would be appreciated 

Numpty Sailor
Posted: Friday, May 26, 2017 9:32 PM

Good luck Elvar for your graduation and congratulations on 12 years of sea service. Not many in the yachting industry can claim that and even fewer have a Masters Unlimited.

It will stand you in good stead in the yachting industry.  But before you can climb the ladder in the yachting industry you will need to learn the "yachting ropes".  There are many, many things in yachting that those in the commercial world know absolutely nothing about (I know, I came from there). 

Maintaining super quality paint work and repairing it; keeping teak decks up to scratch; dealing with guests; guest itineries;  budgets, cruising grounds; etc; etc; etc......     Make no mistake, running a super yacht is a big task that requires experience, leadership, diplomacy, knowledge and above all tact.