Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Is the yachting a chance worth taking?
Saraboell
Posted: Wednesday, February 8, 2012 12:19 PM

Hi. My name is Sara and I am 21 years old. I have for a long time wanted to begin in the yachting industry as a stewardess. I have been working in **** stars restaurants for 4 years now, and last summer I worked as a stewardess for DFDS-Seaways (Danish cruiseship) for six months. I would really like to make money and travel at the same time. I have always been keen of sailing and I am not afraid of the long hard hours it takes to be in yachting. I wondered if anybody out there could tell me about the industry and if trying to succed in it is a chance worth taking? How difficult is it to get a job that you enjoy? Any advice? Sara
Project Consultant
Posted: Thursday, February 9, 2012 8:45 PM

Sarah -
I recommend you go for it, I started at age 21 did it for 15 years and know it was the right move.
My experience was primarily on privately owned sailboats for a high net worth family.  When I was ready to leave the business I was brought into their family business, and have prospered since. 
In any event, there is no way that under other circumstances I would have had the travel opportunities and life experiences that a  sailing career offered.  Now that I have the means to enjoy travel, it's not the same as doing it in your 20's.   If you do it, save your money and have an exit strategy.
You're going to get plenty of good advice from people active in the industry.  Enjoy.

Anton D Park