Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Help! Using a Master 200 GT Certificate from France in the US
JM
Posted: Sunday, January 22, 2012 2:09 AM

Hi- I'm hoping some of you might be able to give me advice on this. I've been working on boats throughout Europe for the past 15 years and spent the last few years helming my own fishing boat out of France. I have a Master 200 GT Certificate from France and I'm wondering if I can somehow transfer that over to the US and work here in the US. I moved to the US 3 years ago (wife) and have a valid green card (citizenship soon to follow). What do I need to do to be able to use my french certificate to work on boats in the US? Would I be allowed to captain a boat here? Thanks in advance.
Captain Andy
Posted: Sunday, January 22, 2012 11:09 AM

Hi JM! Send an email to Mike French at International Yacht Training (IYT) in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. As usually, he will give you expert advice on this matter if you write to him. Hope this helps?!?!?
Henning
Posted: Thursday, January 26, 2012 5:59 PM