Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Flying Fish/UKSA
greg
Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2012 4:44 PM

Hi i intend to do a yacht master offshore course. i have no previous experience in yachting. Both the UKSA and Flying fish offer the same course, although flying fish has the option to not pay for accomodation ashore, making it about £2500 cheaper than the UKSA course. I would rather pay the extra money though if it means having far better tutoring and career prospects, while the prospect of saving well over £2k is obviously very enticing too. Does anyone have any knowledge on the flying fish yachtmaster course or UKSA that could help aid my desision?? Many Thanks
Henning
Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2012 4:54 PM

Go get some experience first or you'll be wasting a lot of money.

greg
Posted: Tuesday, January 10, 2012 6:56 PM

Hi, please could you elaborate slightly on this advice?
Anonymous
Posted: Wednesday, January 11, 2012 12:07 AM
Before spending thousands on courses its a good idea to get a season under your belt, it will give you great insight into the industry and will help you decided which career path to go down. I know many captains who are against fast tracks as it simply doesn't give you enough experience.

The has recently been a thread about UKSA that pretty much asked the same question, check it out! But from my experience I find they tell people what they want to hear and not the reality.

Henning
Posted: Wednesday, January 11, 2012 3:13 AM