Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
When is the best time to get to antibes this year?
Mark Punter
Posted: Wednesday, January 4, 2012 6:59 PM

I have been told to get there mid Febuary, by a crew agent and crew house (a well respected crew house) but a few other people on yachts said that could be way to early. Is arriving mid feb to early to find a job and have a career in yachts? Kind Regards Mark Punter
Jure
Posted: Friday, January 6, 2012 10:40 PM

i'm still a student and with real life experience limited to adriatic sofar, but from what i managed to dugout in past couple of years, everything there in west med starts from the end of march? but if you intend to take more than a couple of courses perhaps it is not unwise to arrive earlier so that  you can take time to be fully prepared for the dockwalk season. my 5 cents of wisdom until some of the oldhands advises you. good luck anyways!

Laure
Posted: Saturday, January 7, 2012 10:41 AM

Hi Mark,

I was in Antibes last summer, so here I give you my piece of advice

If you are a newbie, you will have to do some work :
- find an accommodation (crew house usualy)
- get your STCW95 (security course, without it you won't find a job)
- get the ENG 1 (marine medical certificate)
- get the powerboat (course where you learn how to drive a tender, but it is not compulsory)
- register online with ALL the crew agencies, and then, go to visit them in Antibes (they are around 20!)

The best time to be in Antibes is beginning/middle April.