Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Qualification requested for masseuse (stewardess)
Rachel
Posted: Monday, October 24, 2011 8:27 PM

Hello,

As many others, I am brand new, and trying to understand how the industry works... I am a massage therapist, and I am firmly decided to carry on my career on motor yachts. I would like to know if there are some specific qualifications as a massage therapist that would be requested (deep tissue, lymphatic drainage .... ). I do have 5 years of experience in this field, I also did my competent crew this year, will do my STCW95 and a stewardess course shortly and plan to begin in summer 2012. I also speak fluently french, Italian and English (would the languages really make a difference?).
Any advice is more than welcome!!! Thank you all...

Ruth
Posted: Monday, October 24, 2011 11:09 PM

Hi Rachel, Sometimes a preference will be given to they style of massage which is required from a masseuse, so its best to highlight the different techniques that you are trained in, and have certificates ready. (most roles are for CERTIFIED therapists). Your language skills are a great asset. You'll need to show that you have hospitality / hotel experience, (so now is the time to get it, if you haven't already worked as a waitress/ housekeeper) as masseuse roles almost always include joint stew responsibilities. Good luck, I'd be happy to have a look at your c.v. ruth@wellnestnelson.com
Purser
Posted: Wednesday, October 26, 2011 12:23 AM