Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Not hiring Americans for "Insurance" reasons
chopper
Posted: Sunday, October 23, 2011 12:05 AM

Hi, I am an American free-lance stew/massage therapist, who is really shore based now, unless a friend calls me in for a job. Recently, I was offered a 3 months stint on a yacht that I had worked on previously about 3 years ago.. The engineer who works onboard is a good friend and told me about the opening. he knows me and my work, so recommended me for the job. I was excited to apply, but was told they wouldn't be able to hire me, due to insurance reasons. This is even though the owner, who I knew from before, green-lighted me. They said that foreign vessels don't hire Americans anymore, due to insurance companies forbidding it.. is that true? If so, under what circumstances? I know that we Americans have a bad reputation amongst foreign crew on foreign yachts, as being lazy complainers who bitch too much about long hour. And also for being litigious (not to mention our annoying accents) But has it actually come to the point that insurance companies are forbidding us from being hired? I only wanted a nice short 3 months stint, and cant understand why, if the boss was happy to have me onboard, I couldn't take the position. I just want to know if it was actually the case, and they were telling me the truth, or just didn't want to tell me no because they simply didn't want me. Either way, I find it depressing that Americans have gotten such a bad reputation. I am a hard worker, and was sad to hear I wasn't employabl