Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Captain och Chief Stew?
Agersand
Posted: Sunday, August 28, 2011 8:57 PM

When you dockwalk and approaching yachts and crews in search for jobs, is it the Chief Stew or the Captain I want to talk to if I'm searching position as a regular stew? Go easy on me now, I'm new to this
junior
Posted: Monday, August 29, 2011 7:22 AM

If the yacht is under management its best to submit your resume to management. I dont know how all management companies operate but the one Im associated with constantly forwards selected resumes to its yachts with comments like EU citizen, tri lingual, on station Antibes ..... If youre delivering your resume directly to the boat its more complicated...if the yachts engineer is looking for a helper, you would be wise to approach the engineer first, discuss his needs then hand him your paperwork. As a stewardess its logical to approach the chief stewardess first.
Captain Andy
Posted: Tuesday, August 30, 2011 9:55 PM

Even on Managed Yachts, I'm always taking and reading CVs. On larger yachts the Mate is the one to hand your CV into as he is usually on Deck. He leaves it in the wheelhouse, then once it is read, you could receive a phone call! Please don't expect the Chief Stew on a 50m+ yacht to come out for a chat. If she did that 5 times a day, then thats an hour of productivity lost! But Junior is right ..... get you CV to the Management Companies .... they are very easy to find through Google. Hope this helps! Good luck on finding a position in the Industry!
Agersand