Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
How can I land my first job ?
Posted: Monday, March 28, 2011 10:29 PM

I am looking to work in the yatching industry as I love the water and travel. I am currently taking a semester off from college and could really use some advice on how to break into the bussiness. I have no experience. I am 21 years old, amitious, and willing to work hard. Where do I begin?
rodsteel
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2011 12:02 AM

Here is a good basic thread on this topic (there are many more threads on this site under "advice" and "getting started")

http://www.dockwalk.com/Essentials/DockTalk.aspx?g=posts&t=37398

Enjoy,

Rod

Anonymous
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2011 5:09 AM
How about if you only plan to be around for a semester, dont even bother. . you will not get hired on a boat, maybe do some daywork. . thats about it. . not even worth it. . maybe try McDonalds
Posted: Tuesday, March 29, 2011 6:13 AM

im not planning on going back to school but thanks ill take your advice into account. i would really appreciate more helpful advice on how to actually get started because i'm truly interested and would take people with any kind of experience words gladly.
Anonymous
Posted: Saturday, April 2, 2011 7:02 AM