Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Antibes or Palma?
Matthew
Posted: Thursday, February 10, 2011 9:38 PM

Hi guys, I'm heading south in a month or so to try and get on a superyacht as a deckhand. I have some professional experience and all the qual needed, YM offshore, STCW, ENG1, etc but I'm not sure where I will be most successful in finding a job? Ideally I want to get a position on a sailing yacht, as this is where all my experience has been. I have heard that Palma get more sailing vessels than Antibes, however, I can't imagine that there are as many vessels in Palma as there are Antibes. Any advise on where to go? :S Cheers
Anonymous
Posted: Friday, February 11, 2011 5:24 PM
Well, I'm sure you can find job on both. The diference is that Antibes all the power for jobs are on the agencies and bars, knowloadge of people. Palma do have some agencies, most of them the same as antibes but the docks are reaaaaly big. At least 2 or 3 hours if you walking to do an compleete dockwalk. Palma is ambeliveble good athmosfere. The problem is, Antibes too!! Good luck sun.
proskipper
Posted: Saturday, February 12, 2011 4:17 PM

Dunno.

Never done Antibes.

I would say that Palma is a power job, but there isn't much there, prob only 100 large boats on the island.

I skipper medium stuff, much more work.

AllyJ
Posted: Sunday, February 13, 2011 7:52 AM