Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Newbies in the Yacht Industry - advices
bellasmirnova
Posted: Tuesday, December 7, 2010 9:24 AM

http://proangels.wordpress.com/newbies-experience-exchange/

I’m looking at heading over to the Med next season and wanting a heads up on an engineers position. I am currently an Aircraft Engineer working on a variety of aircraft but mainly F18 fighter jets for RAAF now. I would like a career change but am unsure of visa requirements for superyacht work. I am a New Zealand Citizen and have STCW95, Divemasters, PWC licence, Boat licence, play guitar, kitesurf, and love the ocean. The Australian authorities are currently converting my Aircraft qualifications for a MED1, but would still require my sea time.

Any advice you can give me would be fantastic, or perhaps any contacts in similar situations. A career change is fore front of my mind so willing to spend the cash for qualifications for the best fighting chance in a competitive industry.