Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Dockwalking
Katie
Posted: Wednesday, November 17, 2010 5:11 PM

I am a newbie in the industry, and as many of you know, it is a tough year for finding yacht jobs (especially with no experience).  The best way to get experience, so I've heard, is doing daywork.  But daywork usually involves dockwalking, and I am a Canadian citizen.  I have also heard that immigration is really cracking down on dockwalkers.  Any suggestions?!
Henning
Posted: Saturday, November 20, 2010 11:38 PM

Canadians hold special privileges in the US. I don't know the current rules but a few years ago I helped out a Canadian buddy with the system and it was reasonably simple to get him a 5 year work visa which was basically a probationary period that led to a Green Card.

junior
Posted: Sunday, November 21, 2010 12:11 PM

Yes indeed its been a tough year. I was just in Palma de Mallorca for a few days with boat buisness . Palma is one of the biggest yacht ports in the world , and things looked quite. The contractors I spoke with were all working on the slow side. Your best approach is to dockwalk with a relaxed attitude. Dont be so work hungry, simply spend your dockwalking time getting to know the people on the yachts. Its from these people and you being a familiar face that will soon give you inside lines to jobs. Make your face known .
captain
Posted: Tuesday, November 23, 2010 7:30 PM