Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
starting with...?
Ben
Posted: Friday, September 10, 2010 9:31 AM

Hi all, This is my first post in there, I'm Ben from Brittany France. My english is improving every day so please be kind. 32yo, car mechanical engineer during 5 years and now, after 3 years fulltime volunteer sailing instructor, i'm working hard to prepare the final exam for MOY200 offshore (sailing vessels only) at the end of October. I heard and read many things about the yacht industry. As a newbie, I still have many questions but, to sum up, I'm wondering if it's realistic to find a job quickly after the exam and which job could I expect? Our trainer told us that we'll probably start as mate. Is it realistic? also, he told us that the IYT will find us a job at the end of the course (provided it was successful of course). I can't help being doubtful about this. thanks all for your advices.
junior
Posted: Friday, September 10, 2010 10:58 AM