Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Novice who wants "Master of Yachts, Coastal"
johanrosander
Posted: Friday, June 18, 2010 10:16 PM

Hello, I'm an absolute beginner in the yachting industry. I have found out that a Master Of Yachts certificate is a heck of a thing for my CV if I want a deckhand job. I assume that it's the coastal version I want to aim for. Some of the requirements are: "In order to participate in this course, candidates should have logged 30 days and 800 miles at sea including 2 days as watch leader/skipper and 12 hours underway on watch at night." Could I solve this by being a "paying crew" on a vessel? What requirements must the vessel reach? What is it to practically do to get on board and get logged hours? I already have my STCW95. I am eager to do this, I could be on a plane heading to a boat (if it wants me) early in July.
Salvador
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2010 12:02 AM

Hi,

I know at least this team, you can check in mile building. At the time they were doing Greece - Bahamas, the ARC,  And a lot of independent legs of journeys if you whish to. This ones you pay for, in the site for the ARC, and, crew... seekers or crewfinders I guess, not shure now, you can offer yourself and find non paying (both sides) \ share costs positions. Some require allready some licenses, some don't!! Also try in findacrew. 

This ones you pay and go with experienced people, for sure!

Good luck.

www.sailionian.com/ 

ps: I don't get commission  = )

Henning
Posted: Saturday, June 19, 2010 1:52 AM