Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Dr. Ken, I'm a horror writer whose book has a bunch of dead bodies on a charter yacht
saturnstation
Posted: Thursday, November 12, 2009 8:09 PM

What is the standard procedure for storing bodies that die at sea?  If a guest were to expire, for whatever reason, what's the protocol?  Certainly under normal circumstances you would make for the nearest port and go from there, true?

However, in the book I'm writing, this is impossible.  The ship is about 160 foot motor yacht, anchored off an island and cannot be moved.  The island is uninhabited. 

Even under normal circumstances you would still have to keep the body somewhere until you made port and arrangements could be met, I'm assuming.  Are there body bags on board?  Would you put them in cold storage in the kitchen?  Gross, I know, but if there were infirmary facilities I doubt they would be equipped with a morgue. 

Have you ever actually heard of a guest dying on board a charter before?  I have at this point three people I need to deal with.  Maybe four and well, of course by the book's end it's really not going to be an issue since I think I'll just blow up the boat, anyway.  But for now, in trying to maintain a sense of "decorum" such as it is, I want to follow procedure as close as I can.

Thanks for any help you can give; I don't mean to gross you out or anything if you're reading this over lunch.   

Anonymous
Posted: Thursday, November 12, 2009 10:04 PM

Hi,