Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
The master & apprentice
Dean
Posted: Wednesday, November 4, 2009 1:05 PM

Expecting to waltz into yachting and become a competent engineer is unrealistic, because most engineers work solo and are self taught. Large yachts offer better training opportunities for newbie engineers if the captain and chief are given sufficient resources develop a structured training system. The deck side of the business is more able to deliver on the job training because there is a clear team structured and task book which defines precisely what tasks and skills need to be achieved. For engineers the old school concept of Master and Apprentice is valid because apprentices follow a structure education and path, which focuses on three aspects of vocational development; Training – theoretical education and workplace experience Mentoring – a career guru that takes you under their wing Counseling – correction of behavioral deficiencies The AEC course is a pointless and nobody bothers to become a MEOL people bypass this certificate and go straight onto the MCA Y4 When will engineers get a task book and provided a realistic pathway to competence? Good second engineers are hard to find, especially if you want a someone that truly wants to learn and take the time to become an engineer.
junior
Posted: Wednesday, November 4, 2009 9:22 PM