Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
Is our captain taking advantage of us?
Crew Confessor
Posted: Friday, July 17, 2009 3:17 PM

Anonymous
Posted: Monday, October 5, 2009 5:20 AM
Dear Crew Confessor, I am new to this industry so don't know as much about what is normal and expected as a more seasoned crew person might. My question is about how things should go "off charter" or when no guests/owners are onboard. My question is, how much is the crew expected to cater to the captain? In my case the Captain brings his dates for dinner on a regular basis and makes no bones about the fact that he expects a "charter quality" meal on these occasions which can be several times a week. The stewardess is expected to serve the food and behave in much the same manner that she would if we had guests on. And to take it one step further, he expects her to change his sheets the morning after... A bit much, isn't it? How far down the tracks is the hospitality train meant to go? Let me add that I expect to cook basic meals for the crew "off charter" but I think it's a bit much to require me to cook multi course meals for him and his girlfriend of the day. Maybe I'm off the mark, but it just doesn't seem right to me. What is normal? On the Verge of Getting Pissed Off
junior
Posted: Monday, October 5, 2009 9:54 AM