Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
New to the Industry
AndyP79
Posted: Sunday, June 14, 2009 3:56 PM

Hi Ya'll!
 I am hoping to be new to the Yachting World in the next couple of months. I have been reading and reading all kinds of articles and blogs, and books that I can get my hands on for the last several years.
I am a prior chef in the US Coast Guard, and have sailed Merchant Marine on ships and workboats. I have been wanting to get on to the yachts for as long as I can remember going back to high school.
I had read with some anxiety that people going bald were sometimes let go, but I saw an article on here that said otherwise, and as I keep my thinning locks tidy, don't now feel I have to worry about it. But a few things I have seen are people complaining about the "pretty boys and girls" and tattoos.
 I am not a pretty one, clean cut, but I have tattoos. I have a HUGE coi fish on my calf, the Chinese for good luck on water, and a few smaller, tasteful, colourful ones. All of which will be seen at some point. None are gang or white trash ones. They are are related to my extensive traveling as a career seaman.How much of a problem is going to be?
I have ten years of maritime service behind me. I will be starting classes in the next two weeks, starting with my 200GT Mate and 100GT Masters, and hopeing to add the rest needed for a 1600GT/3000IT Mate/Masters by the end of the year.
I have been told to just present myself cleanly, and personably and if asked tell them I have tattoos then. How much of an issue is it?