Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
My First Captain
stevenpete
Posted: Tuesday, May 12, 2009 8:39 AM

I’ll be hiring my first Captain soon—my very first one.

It was proposed that I ask the readers of dockwalk.com what they think I should look for in a Captain.

Since I’m new to yachting I’m in a very unusual position for me. In my business there is a strong culture already established that has thrived for years and which is a strong part of our reputation. When hiring anyone new, it doesn’t take long for them to quickly fit in with the ethics, culture and respect that we show each other and all of our clients. This business “culture” is now self-perpetuating and takes very little effort on my part to perpetuate.   

However, now I’m going to hire someone that will set the “culture” of the yacht without me. Unlike with my business experience, it would be very easy for a captain to show me one face, while conducting business and dealing with the crew in a very different face. I don’t want to micromanage my Captain, yet at the same time I very strongly want him/her to creature a culture aboard that reflects the standards that I am well known for.

So, here is my list of what I’m looking for:

Strong Management Skills: I want a Captain that will gain the respect of the crew, who is adept at resolving problems and that will treat everyone with respect and dignity no matter who they are.