Welcome to the Dockwalk.com Forum

In order to post a comment in one of the forum topics, you must log in or sign up. Your display name will appear next to your posts unless you check the Post Anonymously box. When writing a post, please follow our forum guidelines. If you come across a post that you would like us to review, use the Report Post button. Please note the opinions shared in the forums do not necessarily reflect the views of Dockwalk.

RSS Feed Print
What Does MCA Want?
canakaltan
Posted: Thursday, March 12, 2009 10:44 PM

It has been four years since i have been working in yachting industry. I used to work on merchant ships before yachts. I studied nautical science for five years, had twelve monthes sea time as a cadet and passed my examinations in order to work as an officer on a merchant ship. The licence i have is an unlimited oceangoing watchkeeping licence recognized by International Maritime Organization (IMO) and is valid in all merchant ships in all waters. But it is not recognized by MCA! I can work on a British flagged container ship; but i can not work on a 30 m. British flagged charter yacht.

I really wonder if MCA approaches in the same way to the British officers who are graduated from maritime academies. I also wonder if there are some others like me, suffering from MCA in the industry.

MatrixLloyd.com
Posted: Sunday, March 15, 2009 9:08 PM

Hi canakantan, and thanks for your post. I can’t see why your qualifications should be valid for commercial ships carrying more than 12 passengers but not for those carrying 12 or less (i.e. yachts). Much will depend on the provenance of your existing tickets and their technical meaning under STCW 95. I can’t give you detailed advice as it would involve a surprising amount of research, but persevere with the MCA – they have been known to make mistakes. Kind regards. Benjamin Maltby. MatrixLloyd. info@matrixlloyd.com.
Jorg
Posted: Friday, April 10, 2009 5:28 PM